Our People

Board of Directors
The Staff

Board of Directors

The Wellesley Institute is guided by a dynamic and committed Board of Directors. Our Board members have a wealth of experience in health research, urban policy issues, and community capacity building as well as management and governance. Our Board is comprised of representatives from the business, academic, health care professional, and community sectors.

Roger Barton
Co-chair, Board of Directors
Former General Counsel and Secretary, Ontario Teachers’ Pension Plan Board
Former Director, St. John’s Rehabilitation Hospital

Liz Janzen
Co-chair, Board of Directors
Former Director of Healthy Communities, Healthy Living, Toronto Public Health

Mohammed Donaldson
Treasurer, Board of Directors
Roster Member, Maytree Foundation’s DiverseCity onBoard Project

Jodi L.H. Butts
Chair, Governance Committee
Executive Director, Rise Asset Development

Lisa Forman
Lupina Assistant Professor, Dalla Lana School of Public Health and Munk School of Global Affairs, University of Toronto

Peter MacLeod
Principal and Co-founder, MASS LBP

Colette Murphy
Chair, RPC Committee
Executive Director, Atkinson Foundation

Susan Takahashi
Senior Manager, Pension Investments, Bank of Montreal

Ali R. Suleman
Vice President and Treasurer, Hydro One Inc.

Stephen Ellis
Chief Operating Officer, Canadian First Financial Holdings

Wellesley Institute Staff

(Click the name for Bio)
Kwame McKenzie
Chief Executive Officer
kwame@wellesleyinstitute.com
416-972-1010 ext 224

Sheila Block
Director, Economic Analysis
sheila@wellesleyinstitute.com
416-972-1010 ext 226

Bob Gardner
Director, Policy
bob@wellesleyinstitute.com
416-972-1010 ext 229

Michael Shapcott
Director, Housing and Innovation
michael@wellesleyinstitute.com
416-972-1010 ext 231

Brenda Roche
Director, Research
brenda@wellesleyinstitute.com
416-972-1010 ext 257

Steve Barnes
Policy Analyst
steve@wellesleyinstitute.com
416-972-1010 ext 258

Vanessa Abban
Research Assistant
vanessa@wellesleyinstitute.com
416-972-1010 ext 273

Alexandra Weiss
Research Assistant
alexandra@wellesleyinstitute.com
416-972-1010 ext 275

Aziza Mahamoud
Research Associate, Systems Science and Population Health
aziza@wellesleyinstitute.com
416-972-1010 ext 221

Jo Snyder
Communications Manager
jo@wellesleyinstitute.com
416-972-1010 ext 230

Nadiya Troyan
Board Administrator and Office Manager
nadiya@wellesleyinstitute.com
416-972-1010 ext 222

April Xie
Special Projects Lead
april@wellesleyinstitute.com